Sunday’s Big Ankle News Brief

by Scott Creighton

Good morning.

On Friday evening I was looking at my phone crossing a parking lot when my left foot came across a mini-pothole. The edge was only about a half of an inch but that was enough to roll my ankle and send my goofy ass tumbling across the asphalt. Today my right knee is still skinned and stinging and my left ankle is swollen like Rachel Madcow’s ego (and bank account)

That’s why I didn’t post anything yesterday and why I’m just posting this today. It’s a good thing there’s not much happening in the neoliberalized world today.

related: my ankles are weak because way back when, I broke them, one after the other, playing pick-up and intramural basketball at VCU. Since I was poor back then, as I am now, I could not afford to get them looked after and I just sucked it up and they eventually “healed” on their own. But they were left weakened and these days (I sprained one and then broke the other a couple months ago) in their weakened state, I am always just a 1/2″ away from another embarrassing tumble.

Maybe one day we’ll have real universal healthcare, not the FascistCare that we have now and even poor kids can avoid a life-time of suffering for no apparent reason. But it looks like Ryan/DonaldCare will make sure we have a long wait til those days are here.

Continue reading