Shut Down the Democratic National Convention

(Get your asses to Philly, young boys and girls. Get to Philly.)

by Chris Hedges, TruthDig

On July 25, opening day of the Democratic National Convention in Philadelphia, Cheri Honkala, leader of the Poor People’s Economic Human Rights Campaign, who was denied a permit to march by city authorities, will rally with thousands of protesters outside City Hall. Defying the police, they will march up Broad Street to the convention.

We will recapture our democracy in the streets of cities such as Philadelphia, not in convention halls such as the aptly named Wells Fargo Center, where the Democratic Party elites intend to celebrate the results of the rigged primary elections and the continuity of corporate power.

Green Party presidential candidate Jill Stein, other activists and I will march with Honkala. It is not as if we have a choice. No one invited us into the center or to the lavish corporate-sponsored receptions. No one anointed us to be Clinton superdelegates—a privilege that went to corporate lobbyists, rich people and party hacks. No one in the Democratic establishment gives a damn what we think.

The convention is not our party. It is their party. It costs a lot of money to attend. Donate $100,000 and you become an “empire” donor, with perks such as “VIP credentials for all convention proceedings,” along with tickets to lavish corporate and Party receptions, photo ops with politicians at the convention podium, four rooms at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel and a suite at a Yankees game, where a “special guest” will be present. Short of $100,000? You can become a “gold” donor for $50,000, a “silver” donor for $25,000 or a “bronze” donor for $10,000.

We have the best democracy money can buy. The Wells Fargo Center and the fancy hotels in Philadelphia will be swarming with corporate representatives and lobbyists from Comcast, Xerox, Google and dozens of other companies that manage our political theater.

Honkala, who was once homeless—she lived for a while out of cars, in abandoned houses and under bridges—and who was the Green Party’s vice presidential candidate in 2012, has long defied the elites on behalf of the marginalized and the poor. She led a protest at the 2000 Republican National Convention, (after being denied a permit for that as well), which saw 30,000 people shut down Philadelphia’s center over issues such as racial discrimination, police violence and poverty. She has fought for the homeless, the unemployed and the underemployed for three decades, through acts of civil disobedience —marches, the construction of tent cities and homeless encampments, and sit-ins—that often ended in arrests. She has been arrested more than 200 times.

She will be on the south side of Philadelphia’s City Hall at 3 p.m. on July 25, with or without a permit. And thousands for whom the Democratic Party is another face of the corporate enemy will be there with her. (Contacts for the march are (215) 869-4753 or cherihonkalappehrc@gmail.com.)

“Philadelphia has a poverty rate of 26 percent,” she said when I reached her by phone. “It has the highest number of people who die from drug overdoses in the country. The city has not housed anyone within the homeless population within 10 months. It has lost its state certification for the Department of Human Services child protection agency because of gross negligence and substandard conditions for children. Foster kids are stuck in an abusive system. Hundreds are not being placed. And at the same time, the city will spend $43 million on security for the convention. It will spend upwards of $60 million to house millionaires and billionaires while it ignores the vulnerable and attempts, by denying us a permit to march, to render them invisible.”

[read more here]

23 Responses

  1. You healthy enough and or have the desire to go up to philly….im game. Dont know too many here in Tampa area.

    • if I can scrape the money together, I’ll go with you. I don’t have a car that will make the trip though. My POS ride barely starts. You know, I seem to remember St. Pete For Peace sending me something a couple weeks ago about a trip to the DNC convention. I could be wrong. You know there will be a bunch from that group that wants to go.

      • I trust him … obviously he was leary of the guy videotaping. If you dont understand why he would steer clear of 9-11 stuff, maybey gou dont get what he is about and what his passion is?

    • yep. SP4P is going. https://www.stpete4peace.org/2016-07-dnc

      “Do you want to join a contingent of people from the Tampa Bay area who are going to protest at the Democratic National convention in Philadelphia?

      We’re departing Tampa the morning of Sunday, July 24, and returning from Philadelphia early evening, Tuesday, July 26.

      There are direct flights from Tampa to Philadelphia for around $200 as of mid-May. There is limited space remaining in the hotel rooms we’ve reserved (about $60 per person, per night, for two nights), so get in touch with us sooner than later!”

  2. Scott, Do you really trust NY (Mockingbird) Times’ Chris Hedges? He doesn’t even think we were lied to about 9/11. Follow his advice? I wouldn’t follow him if he were the only man with a flashlight during the next NYC blackout. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rtBazX6xpaM

    • first of all, you wrote that you were inspired to take up the 9/11 research quest while you were in the shower and visited by “9/11 restless spirits” who “telepathically” instructed you to look into it so you could spread the word.

      http://www.shamanportal.org/impact_details.php?id=42

      I buy that about as much as I buy Ted Cruz being told by God himself that he was going to be the next president.

      I’m sure you were visited by someone in the shower, but I doubt it was a couple victims of 9/11. so am I following you anywhere with a flashlight in New York? no

      Hedges however is part of a large group of folks heading down there and he’s not even the leader of that march, if you bothered to read the article. The first paragraph clearly states that Cheri Honkala, leader of the Poor People’s Economic Human Rights Campaign, is organizing this march and demonstration. Personally I don’t know and or care what she thinks about 9/11. Her heart seems to be in the right place regarding the plight of millions of poor people across the country, and that’s good enough for me. If you wish to cast doubt on the march based on your 9/11 litmus test, go right ahead.

      Hedges has been right on some things and wrong on others and I either give him credit or call him out accordingly. There are plenty of examples of both from me to choose from.

      I got an idea… head down there with a contingent of Truth advocates. Spread the word. Do some street action. We still do that, don’t we? Why poo-poo the whole thing because Hedges doesn’t share your feelings about 9/11 or at least say he does in public? Kinda petty if you ask me. Take some DVDs down there, get a bunch from the Big Apple to go with you and convert some folks who are there fighting for our democracy. That sounds like a good idea, right?

  3. Hey Willy,

    Thanks for the link to the shamanism article. I forgot where that was. Yeah, i put it out there for all to see, and for persons like you to mock, if you so desire.

    No, no need to follow me anywhere, I’m not leading any parade.

    Are you going to Philly? Or staying home with mom?

    I read your article. Your perspective often intrigues me. I follow you diligently, and have supported you financially.

    Hedges’ presence at any event taints it, perhaps that is his goal. Your support of him here taints you too.

    No, thank you, not interested in going to Philly. Went there once, got arrested. Not a good memory.

    More importantly, I have never been into street action, and thus would never encourage anyone to do that which I am not inclined (have the guts?) to do.

    Love and kisses,
    –D

    • did you ever see that South Park episode where the lawyer tells the kids he’s going to give them a “sue-ance” so they can sue the inventor of the toilet and that it just “happens” to cost the exact same amount one of them just got from his dead mother’s estate?

      You’re a lawyer, right? And you were contacted in your shower by dead victims of 9/11 to “spread the word” about 9/11 Truth?

      Can you read those tea leaves or am I being too subtle?

      I did do street actions back in the day. And I attended Meet-ups and wrote articles and did research and debated lots of folks along the way. And I also attended street actions while Israel was bombing the shit out of Gaza a while back. I used to do all that stuff back when I could stand for more than 20 minutes at a time without my leg swelling up and feeling like my skin was on fire.

      I would still go to this if I could, and I’m not saying I wont. But it would be very difficult for me.

      So don’t ever presume to be able to question my goddamned commitment or suggest I’m “tainted” by your bullshit 3 degrees of separation trolling.

      I put this article up because it’s current and it points out that people have something they can do if they want to let their feelings about having this election stolen from them be known in a big way. As I pointed out to the other reader, St. Pete for Peace was putting together a trip for that same reason weeks ago.

      It’s funny, all this work I’m doing on election fraud, Greater Kurdistan and all the rest of the shit, and the one thing you choose to chime in on is the one time I’m letting folks know there are potentially hundreds of thousands just like them planning to gather and make some noise… and you chime in to poo-poo on it and call me “tainted”

      Hmmm.

      Holding any sue-ances over at AE49/11Truth recently?

    • and for the record regarding Chris Hedges:

      “Fuck Chris Hedges, sell out piece of shit.

      WTF is the world coming to? Webster Tarpley trying to push his listeners to rush out and support Barack Obama’s campaign and Chris Hedges cross promoting the dangers of the international leftists with the likes of Duane Clarridge. God help us.” Scott Creighton Aug. 2012

      But you already know about that article, don’t you? You left a comment on it.

  4. Hey Willy,

    I’m not a fan of “South Park” so no, i never saw that South Park episode you mention, which, from your description, sucks even more than you do here, in this exchange.

    re: “You’re a lawyer, right? And you were contacted in your shower by dead victims of 9/11 to “spread the word” about 9/11 Truth?” As I recall, I don’t think the contact came in the shower. It was more as I was walking along WTC ground zero, and later at a shamanic drumming circle. I’d have to check my notes.

    What is your spiritual inclination, Willy, do you have one? I suspect Atheist. No problem there. It’s one way to go.

    re: “Can you read those tea leaves or am I being too subtle?” I have never read tea leaves. Are you being too subtle? Yes. Not sure what you mean. Is the pain getting to you, Willy? If yes, feel better.

    re: “I did do street actions back in the day…” etc. Yahoo! Boo Hoo! But done for now, right? Yet, still encouraging others while you sit on the sidelines, with mom.

    re: “So don’t ever presume to be able to question my goddamned commitment or suggest I’m “tainted” by your bullshit 3 degrees of separation trolling.” LOL! You are forever tainted Willy. This comes from many many others in the so-called 9/11 Truth Movement, not me, tho I have defended you to them on many occasions. I am inclined to agree with the others as of late, especially after this limited hangout article, and your ad hominem attacks vs me and your reply comments that are so pro Chris Hedges {gag}. Go b*** him, why doncha?

    re: “I put this article up because it’s current and it points out that people have something they can do…” You are steering people to a dead end. You appear to be, in this instance, worse than a limited hangout. In the past, I thought better of you, as I once did of Alex Jones (aka AJ). Tho you vociferously attack AJ, you both appear to be of the same ilk: i.e., compromised and/or controlled. Guys who have lost it, and/or sold out. Or are behaving according to a pre-conceived, long-range, Cass Sunstein type of plan. That is, you may have been BS from the beginning.

    re: “It’s funny, all this work I’m doing on election fraud, Greater Kurdistan and all the rest of the shit, and the one thing you choose to chime in on is the one time I’m letting folks know there are potentially hundreds of thousands just like them planning to gather and make some noise… and you chime in to poo-poo on it and call me “tainted”
    Hmmm.” Well, to tell the Truth, I’m on vacation now and have time to spend corresponding here with you Willy, my internet-ex-friend.

    Not sure what this means: “Holding any sue-ances over at AE49/11Truth recently?” Another ad hominen type of attack? Is that not beneath the veneer of the real Willyloman? What have they done to him (or you)? Dead giveaway, in any event. Whatever…

    …Your quoted language leads me to believe that you are in pain. Feel better, ex-friend. I wish you well.

    Love and kisses,
    –D

    • it’s not “ad hominen” Dennis. You said you didn’t trust Chris because of what he said a while ago about 9/11. I simply pointed out something you said in the past about 9/11 that I didn’t find particularly honest. Do you get it now? Do you understand the connection?

      You come here and start suggesting I am “tainted” because I post a link to an article by Hedges, so yeah, I responded in kind. Truth is, we can always find things someone wrote or said that we don’t agree with. That doesn’t mean everything else they do or say is invalid. I don’t agree with many things Hedges has written in the past and you know that all too well. But this call to action from him, this writing about a protest taking place, just happens to be a good idea.

      I’m curious… where exactly do you stand on this whole election thingy?

      • Willy,
        My take on the election is that Killary (as you so aptly named her) is a lock. She is the primary puppet of the powers that be who favor the Zionist agenda. The others in the race, Donald (we shall over-comb) Trump, and Bernie (the sheepdog) Sanders, are all pro-Zionists. Simply put, the Zionists can’t lose. They can win big, bigger, or biggest. Killary is the biggest. Electronic voting is totally rigged, as you know. So, while I am not a betting man, if I were, I’d lay 100-1 that Killary is destined to be coronated queen of the Zionist-controlled USA.

        • of course it’s rigged. been rigged for a while. me personally, I wouldn’t really support any of the candidates that have been presented this year. Sanders is closest to my way of thinking, but as I have written in the past, he has some serious foreign policy issues and one of those is yelling at Palestinian rights activists who show up at his town hall meetings. AS I wrote the other day, what I am doing here isn’t so much in support of Bernie as it is in support of the right of the people to have their voice heard and their votes counted. Though he would be slightly better than Killary, Druumph or Cthulu, that’s not the point. The point is, people have a right to choose and if they don’t, they need to be made aware of that fact, that you and I already know all too well. That’s what I do here. And though you did avoid the question quite gracefully, I have to say you did avoid it. I didn’t ask you who you thought the Zionists intended to hold the office, I asked who you supported (if anyone)

    • wow. you really are quite trollish aren’t you?

      “re: “I did do street actions back in the day…” etc. Yahoo! Boo Hoo! But done for now, right? Yet, still encouraging others while you sit on the sidelines, with mom.

      re: “So don’t ever presume to be able to question my goddamned commitment or suggest I’m “tainted” by your bullshit 3 degrees of separation trolling.” LOL! You are forever tainted Willy. This comes from many many others in the so-called 9/11 Truth Movement, not me, tho I have defended you to them on many occasions. I am inclined to agree with the others as of late, especially after this limited hangout article, and your ad hominem attacks vs me and your reply comments that are so pro Chris Hedges {gag}. Go b*** him, why doncha?”

      yeah, I know the folks you hang out with in the Truth movement.

      • Do you? Who might they be?

        • lets see… who’s on that 9/11 Consensus panel with you… Dr. Niels Harrit (of the “super nanothermite” distraction), Dr. Steven E. Jones (more BYU funded “super nanothermite” distraction) and Dwain Deets (head of the NASA program that created drones and helped create the fly-by-remote system installed in a couple planes on 9/11)

          that’s one group for starters. frankly I don’t give a shit what they think.

      • trollish? LOL. a new one against me. don’t you have enough with my spirituality persona to launch ad hominem attacks? have you forgotten how to argue substance? or is the substance of you so hollow nowadays?

  5. missed this: ” I asked who you supported (if anyone)”
    answer: i no longer vote. but like you, tome, bernie seems the least of the three evils.

  6. re: “lets see… who’s on that 9/11 Consensus panel with you… Dr. Niels Harrit (of the “super nanothermite” distraction), Dr. Steven E. Jones (more BYU funded “super nanothermite” distraction) and Dwain Deets (head of the NASA program that created drones and helped create the fly-by-remote system installed in a couple planes on 9/11)
    that’s one group for starters. frankly I don’t give a shit what they think.”

    i don’t agree with you characterizations of these folks, but please also note that i don’t hang out with any of them. i vote on an issue when david ray griffin (DRG, who invited me to join) sends me something to vote on, and comment on. and i do that because DRG invited me to do so, and i think the world of him (while disagreeing with certain positions taken by Consensus Panel members).

    gotta go now, see you later.

    • there are good people on that panel, folks I have respect for. And I certainly respect it’s founder, David Ray Griffin and all the work he has done for the Truth movement. Hell without him, I wouldn’t be here and I doubt many others would either. So, I want to be clear,and make it clear for readers, it’s a good organization in spite of it’s inclusion of those three that I mentioned, who I have no respect for.

      But let me say this as well to the first point of this debate and that is, I don’t agree with DRG on his position on man-made global warming. But I don’t let that difference I have with his stance on that subject alter my opinion on his work on 9/11, which is beyond substantial. My point here is simple: as you know, I have called out Hedges many times in the past, but in this case, he’s on the right side of history in my opinion. I don’t use 9/11 as a litmus test nor do I use Global Warming. If I did, I would have a much narrower understanding of what’s going on around me, I think. But that’s jst me.

      I’ll see you later.

      • OK, see you later. For me, rightly or wrongly, 9/11 is THE litmus test. So, on this point, we are at odds. Our positions re Chris Hedges stem from that disjoint.

Leave a Reply

