Syria Kurds (Not!) Say They’ll Declare A Federal Region in Syria

from Penny for Your Thoughts

A powerful Syrian Kurdish political party is planning to declare a federal region in northern Syria, a model it hopes can be applied to the entire country, a spokesman for the faction said Wednesday.

Nawaf Khalil of the Democratic Union Party told The Associated Press that his party is not lobbying for an only-Kurdish region but an all-inclusive area that would include representation for Turkmen, Arabs and Kurds in northern Syria.

The declaration is expected to be made at the end of a Kurdish conference that is being held Wednesday in the town of Rmeilan in the country’s northern Hassakeh province.A federal region could be a first step toward creating an autonomous region similar to the one Kurds run across the border in Iraq, where their territory is virtually a separate country.

It could also usher in similar demands for federal regions elsewhere in Syria and in effect lead to a partition of the war-shattered country.

However, both the Syrian government and the opposition, at least in theory, reject any form of partitioning of the country.
“As a Syrian citizen, I say we reject talks about a federal Syria … our people will reject any attempt to divide Syria,” Foreign Minister Walid al-Moallem said at a weekend press conference in Damascus.

A separatist region in Syria was ANNEXED, by the US and NATO, to destroy Syria as we have all known it! As I’ve stated all along. The PKK is a terrorist organization. YPG is their affilliate and is full of  Kurdish and friend terrorists. The plan was to balkanize or federalize, as the compromise, Syria. This will, as has been stated here, embolden the PKK, as it has been, to tear Turkey apart. And they are.

[read more hereNEW map]

14 Responses

  1. Hey Willy:

    You saw the news? And not a comment yet.
    Let’s see my detractors attacked me for talkin’ Kurdistan..

    I lost readership when I stated my belief that Russia and the US had made an agreement regarding Syria’s federalization…

    And yet, I’ve been vindicated again and again.
    (You and I Willy. The only ones talkin’ about the terror state aka Israel 2.0 that will be Kurdistan)
    I’m also calling out the con artists I specifically mentioned previously at my place who were cheering on the creation of NATO’s latest terror state.

  2. Hey Willy:

    Not one comment at my place..
    Anyway I’ve updated again, a link to RT

    “Now the conference has just started in Rmelan, about 200 representatives of Rojava have joined [the event]. They represent different ethnicities and nationalities. There are Kurds, Arabs, Assyrians, Syriacs, Turkomans, Armenians, Circassians and Chechens,”

    All the spin doctors out there would have us believe al Turkoman belonged to Erdogan- That’s doesn’t look to be the case

    And Chechens in Syria? How many were there before NATO’s destabilization began?
    Did you ever come across any Syrian Chechens, because I hadn’t.?

    • Whenever I publish something, it automatically posts a Tweet on my account with the title, images and a link back to the article. I have about 670 followers on Twitter and I can usually expect a couple reTweets and Likes on each one, especially if it’s something I wrote and not a blurb I posted linking to another site (like I did yours today). Well, when I write about this subject… nothing. Nothing. Not one single thing. And of those 670 followers, most of which are legit alternative media outlets or activists or just plain folks who want to see real change in this county, to a person they seem to be reluctant to even talk about it. I don’t know if its that they don’t see it happening, it’s to “forest for the trees” for them or if they simply don’t care that a major nation building event is taking place from the shattering of 3 entirely separate legitimate nations. You would think that would be a major story, as big as the illegal bombing of Iraq at least or even bigger than Benghazi to them (since BOTH of those events are parts of the Greater Kurdistan sum) but no. Nothing. Zip. Zilch.

      Maybe they all buy into the new freedom fighters mythology. Maybe they have been successful, these fake alternative sites out here, in demonizing Erdogan by linking him with Obama and the Globalization project to the point where they simply don’t understand. I don’t know. But it’s sad it’s taking place right now in front of everyone and no one says a word. Not a peep.

      • It gives you and idea how the myth of Israel was sold to the world doesn’t it? Though it was the same basic reality. Terrorists- terrorizing key players- (Brits) Then terrorizing the population on the ground, ethnic cleansing of the population,forced removal of the persons resident in the area- confiscation, rape plunder
        History repeats- easily when the real history is obfuscated behind a nice ‘righting the wrongs’ kind of a story- Makes people feel good about doing bad, very bad things😦

        • I would have said something earlier – I was busy!

          Penny, you sound well informed like Scott.

          Scott’s Greater Kurdistan idea (I say “Scott’s” only because he is the first person I had noticed of that opinion) is very compelling, and becoming increasingly evident exactly as he (and perhaps you too) predicted.

          The reason nobody is responding is because you two actually are on the cutting edge on this matter. As far as I can tell, people just don’t know as much as you do about it, or lack the strategic thinking to piece it together, or both.

          But you are just about the only ones. Joaquin Flores is the only other person who seems to have similar grasp, and (to quote Bernie) maybe just maybe Corbett too to be fair. But really you two probably actually are the cutting edge on “Greater Kurdistan”.

          Flores was the only person beside Scott to suspect that the Russians colluded with the Turks to shoot down the Russian plane, a brilliant strategic idea, and a plan which may have worked perfectly, allowing the Russians to withdraw! You guys are the only ones that are well informed enough and think that far through things. Even Thierry Meyssan at Voltaire hasn’t noticed it as far as I know.

          Two questions:

          1. What do you both think of Joaquin Flores?
          He seems very well informed, maybe even better than Pepe Escobar. I can’t tell exactly where he is politically but he seems generally to be some kind of eastern European radical left-right alliance type who apparently originally comes out of activist organized labor. He seems to have his ear well to the ground.

          2. What is your basic take on the Rojava component?
          They seem like they may be kinda’ ok socially, but they are between a rock and a hard place as far as actual power because they are relatively small, leftists, and reportedly less corrupt, so maybe can’t get as reliable support from the west as the PKK does being an eager organized crime partner. My proposed idea being that Rojava is basically forced by mainly pragmatism to ally with the PKK when, if not for the protection backup it provides, they might not be so quick to get in bed with the PKK.

          Speaking of organized crime, Greater Kurdistan, in addition to creating new pipeline possibilities, may also freeze out several troublesome middlemen along the heroin road, were the Kurds to acquire a sea port…a straight shot to and from Europe for all kinds of smuggling and clandestine destabilizing hijinx.

          Thank you for your good work.

        • If you haven’t checked out Joaquin Flores, his stuff that I’m referring to is in the form of YouTube video interviews most of which seem to be on the “108morris108” YouTube channel. Flores’ website is more intellectual neo-Marxist political theory and doesn’t really include news.

          His fascinating video interviews are most often published on the YouTube channel of Morris who seems largely an anti-Israel lefty and is not the brightest guy – I am not impressed by his other material – but he does host Joaquin Flores as a frequent guest and those are quite worthwhile.

          Here is the most recent excellent Flores interview “Who Sold Turkey Down The River?” (23 min.) I suspect you may find it very interesting:

  3. Hi Observer:

    Saw your message this am and went off to check out this Joaquin Flores, fellow. Admittedly I’ve not heard tell of him previously.
    Interesting video. And I will pay more attention to him from now on.

    “Penny, you sound well informed like Scott”

    As for my being well informed on this topic- I’ve written about Kurds and Kurdistan since around 2011? I don’t know how long Scott has written about this topic? It became obvious when the destabilization of Syria began, that the kurds were “important”

    Here’s a link to an earlier post:
    http://pennyforyourthoughts2.blogspot.ca/2011/11/kurds-wild-card-in-syria.html

    I’m certain there are well over two hundred posts at my blog on the topic- maybe even 300? I’m not entirely sure?

    “The reason nobody is responding is because you two actually are on the cutting edge on this matter”

    It seems that is the case? However I believe it goes deeper then that. I attribute the avoidance of the issue to deeply ingrained, or entrained, propaganda (to fall into line) with a meme attributing Kurds and perpetual victimhood- along the line of the “jew/eternal victim”/people without a land meme.

    I suggest at the blog the destruction of Turkey began in 2003. That is also how long the meme of the kurd/victim/people without a land has been pushed, implanted, reinforced within the populace. We all recall “Saddam gassed the Kurds”?
    No he didn’t. He had absolutely nothing to gain. And everything to lose by gassing the Kurds- Gassing the kurds guaranteed the much desired, by the US, intervention in Iraq. So, who gassed the kurds? I would suggest it was other Kurds. Much like the types of abuses we see the PKK militias inflicting on the regular ‘joe or jane’ kurd., even today.
    They had everything to gain from this action. Saddam Hussein had everything to lose.

    Since the gotta do right by the victim meme is so well implanted in our psyche… It’s very easy to reinforce and reinvigorate and reaffirm. As I said previously to Scott- A nice “righting of wrongs” makes it easier to encourage people to do very bad things.

    So besides Scott and I being on the cutting edge, I would suggest a bit of cognitive dissonance is at play too.

    Your questions:

    What do you both think of Joaquin Flores?

    I’ve got to pay attention to his work for a bit before I can decide- That was the first time I had heard of him- But, I’ll make a point of checking him out when I can- Thanks for bringing him to my attention

    2. What is your basic take on the Rojava component?

    Necessarily created to destabilize Turkey. Infiltrated fully with PKK terrorists
    The PKK were in Syria and active, training fighters, prior to NATO’s destabilization.
    An external link from this post
    http://pennyforyourthoughts2.blogspot.ca/2015/11/what-if-russia-attacked-syrias-kurds-on.html

    ‘”PKK fighters returned to Syria during the civil war. Jordi Tejel, an expert on Syrian Kurds says, “already in April 2011 the PKK sent one thousand armed fighters to establish the YPG in Syria.”

    1,000 PKK fighters trained the YPG. They displaced and harmed many resident kurds. They forced the kurdish children to fight- including kidnapping minors from their parents. I had a story about a Syrian man, who set himself ablaze, so despondent over the kidnapping of his sons by the PKK-

    “Speaking of organized crime, Greater Kurdistan, in addition to creating new pipeline possibilities, may also freeze out several troublesome middlemen along the heroin road, were the Kurds to acquire a sea port…”

    I suggest regularly Greater Kurdistan will indeed be a terror state, like Israel and like Kosovo.
    Both Israel and Kosovo are very well known for their drug and human trafficking. Kurdistan wil be integral to that ‘trade’ along with pipelines- The PKK are already massive heroine traffickers

    http://www.washingtoninstitute.org/policy-analysis/view/contending-with-the-pkks-narco-terrorism

    http://pennyforyourthoughts2.blogspot.ca/2016/01/three-cheers-for-pkk.html

  4. Hi Observer:
    Saw your message this am and went off to check out this Joaquin Flores, fellow. Admittedly I’ve not heard tell of him previously.
    Interesting video. And I will pay more attention to him from now on.

    *”Penny, you sound well informed like Scott”*

    As for my being well informed on this topic??? – I’ve written about Kurds and Kurdistan since around 2011? I don’t know how long Scott has written about this topic? It became obvious when the destabilization of Syria began, that the kurds were “important”
    Here’s a link to an earlier post:
    http://pennyforyourthoughts2.blogspot.ca/2011/11/kurds-wild-card-in-syria.html

    I’m certain there are well over two hundred posts at my blog on the topic- maybe even 300? I’m not entirely sure?

    *”The reason nobody is responding is because you two actually are on the cutting edge on this matter”*

    It seems that is the case? However I believe it goes deeper then that. I attribute the avoidance of the issue to deeply ingrained, or entrained, propaganda (to fall into line) with a meme attributing Kurds and perpetual victimhood- along the line of the “jew/eternal victim”/people without a land meme.

    I suggest at the blog the destruction of Turkey began in 2003. That is also how long the meme of the kurd/victim/people without a land has been pushed, implanted, reinforced within the populace. We all recall “Saddam gassed the Kurds”?
    No he didn’t. He had absolutely nothing to gain. And everything to lose by gassing the Kurds- Gassing the kurds guaranteed the much desired, by the US, intervention in Iraq. So, who gassed the kurds? I would suggest it was other Kurds. Much like the types of abuses we see the PKK militias inflicting on the regular ‘joe or jane’ kurd., even today.
    They had everything to gain from this action. Saddam Hussein had everything to lose.

    Since the gotta do right by the victim meme is so well implanted in our psyche… It’s very easy to reinforce and reinvigorate and reaffirm. As I said previously to Scott- A nice “righting of wrongs” makes it easier to encourage people to do very bad things.

    So besides Scott and I being on the cutting edge, I would suggest a bit of cognitive dissonance is at play too.

    Your questions:
    *1-What do you both think of Joaquin Flores?*

    I’ve got to pay attention to his work for a bit before I can decide- That was the first time I had heard of him- But, I’ll make a point of checking him out when I can- Thanks for bringing him to my attention

    *2. What is your basic take on the Rojava component?*

    Necessarily created to destabilize Turkey. Infiltrated fully with PKK terrorists The PKK were in Syria and active, training fighters, prior to NATO’s destabilization.
    An external link from this post
    http://pennyforyourthoughts2.blogspot.ca/2015/11/what-if-russia-attacked-syrias-kurds-on.html

    ‘”PKK fighters returned to Syria during the civil war. Jordi Tejel, an expert on Syrian Kurds says, “already in April 2011 the PKK sent one thousand armed fighters to establish the YPG in Syria.”

    1,000 PKK fighters trained the YPG. They displaced and harmed many resident kurds. They forced the kurdish children to fight- including kidnapping minors from their parents. I had a story about a Syrian man, who set himself ablaze, so despondent over the kidnapping of his sons by the PKK-

    *“Speaking of organized crime, Greater Kurdistan, in addition to creating new pipeline possibilities, may also freeze out several troublesome middlemen along the heroin road, were the Kurds to acquire a sea port…”*

    I suggest regularly Greater Kurdistan will indeed be a terror state, like Israel and like Kosovo.
    Both Israel and Kosovo are very well known for their drug and human trafficking. Kurdistan wil be integral to that ‘trade’ along with pipelines- The PKK are already massive heroine traffickers

    http://www.washingtoninstitute.org/policy-analysis/view/contending-with-the-pkks-narco-terrorism
    http://pennyforyourthoughts2.blogspot.ca/2016/01/three-cheers-for-pkk.html

    • aS for how long I’ve been covering this project, it’s hard too tell since a lot of times, I’m to lazy or tired (COPD and several PEs) to check off the tags for what I write, leaving a lot of stuff without a category. But I wrote this in Jan. of 2015:

      (A little while ago (Nov. 2014) I wrote about how the Kurds who are aligned with the U.S. and the brutal regime in Iraq, are being promoted as the “answer to ISIS”. They have adopted neoliberal economic ideology in the areas they control in northern Iraq and life under their rule is about as “free and democratic” as it is under that of the Saudis.

      ” Despite all that positive propaganda and hype that is being spread about Iraqi Kurdistan by the Western mass media, the place feels chaotic, even depressing. As any country or region of the world, which is under the total control of Western business and geopolitical interests, Iraqi Kurdistan is mainly geared towards the exploitation of natural resources and the neglect of its own people.”Counterpunch

      I figured the plan was ultimately to create a new Kurdistan by handing over part of northern Iraq to the Kurds as well as part of a conquered Syria and Turkey. Turkey is now fully engaged with Russia via the Turkish Stream pipeline. Turns out a member of the European parliament made a recent statement which seems to bolster my original conclusion.)

      That’s the first entry in my “Kurdistan” category. Obviously, there were earlier articles dealing with the subject. But I haven’t been tracking it as long as you have, that’s true.

      My Greater Kurdistan category only goes back to Aug. of 2015

  5. Hi Observer:
    Saw your message this am and went off to check out this Joaquin Flores, fellow. Admittedly I’ve not heard tell of him previously.
    Interesting video. And I will pay more attention to him from now on.

    “Penny, you sound well informed like Scott”

    As for my being well informed on this topic- I’ve written about Kurds and Kurdistan since around 2011? I don’t know how long Scott has written about this topic? It became obvious when the destabilization of Syria began, that the kurds were “important”

    Here’s a link to an earlier post:
    http://pennyforyourthoughts2.blogspot.ca/2011/11/kurds-wild-card-in-syria.html

    I’m certain there are well over two hundred posts at my blog on the topic- maybe even 300? I’m not entirely sure?

    “The reason nobody is responding is because you two actually are on the cutting edge on this matter”

    It seems that is the case? However I believe it goes deeper then that. I attribute the avoidance of the issue to deeply ingrained, or entrained, propaganda (to fall into line) with a meme attributing Kurds and perpetual victimhood- along the line of the “jew/eternal victim”/people without a land meme.

    I suggest at the blog the destruction of Turkey began in 2003. That is also how long the meme of the kurd/victim/people without a land has been pushed, implanted, reinforced within the populace. We all recall “Saddam gassed the Kurds”?
    No he didn’t. He had absolutely nothing to gain. And everything to lose by gassing the Kurds- Gassing the kurds guaranteed the much desired, by the US, intervention in Iraq. So, who gassed the kurds? I would suggest it was other Kurds. Much like the types of abuses we see the PKK militias inflicting on the regular ‘joe or jane’ kurd., even today.
    They had everything to gain from this action. Saddam Hussein had everything to lose.

    Since the gotta do right by the victim meme is so well implanted in our psyche… It’s very easy to reinforce and reinvigorate and reaffirm. As I said previously to Scott- A nice “righting of wrongs” makes it easier to encourage people to do very bad things.

    So besides Scott and I being on the cutting edge, I would suggest a bit of cognitive dissonance is at play too.

  6. Part two:

    Your questions:

    What do you both think of Joaquin Flores?

    I’ve got to pay attention to his work for a bit before I can decide- That was the first time I had heard of him- But, I’ll make a point of checking him out when I can- Thanks for bringing him to my attention

    2. What is your basic take on the Rojava component?

    Necessarily created to destabilize Turkey. Infiltrated fully with PKK terrorists
    The PKK were in Syria and active, training fighters, prior to NATO’s destabilization.
    An external link from this post
    http://pennyforyourthoughts2.blogspot.ca/2015/11/what-if-russia-attacked-syrias-kurds-on.html

    ‘”PKK fighters returned to Syria during the civil war. Jordi Tejel, an expert on Syrian Kurds says, “already in April 2011 the PKK sent one thousand armed fighters to establish the YPG in Syria.”

    1,000 PKK fighters trained the YPG. They displaced and harmed many resident kurds. They forced the kurdish children to fight- including kidnapping minors from their parents. I had a story about a Syrian man, who set himself ablaze, so despondent over the kidnapping of his sons by the PKK-

    “Speaking of organized crime, Greater Kurdistan, in addition to creating new pipeline possibilities, may also freeze out several troublesome middlemen along the heroin road, were the Kurds to acquire a sea port…”

    I suggest regularly Greater Kurdistan will indeed be a terror state, like Israel and like Kosovo.
    Both Israel and Kosovo are very well known for their drug and human trafficking. Kurdistan wil be integral to that ‘trade’ along with pipelines- The PKK are already massive heroine traffickers

    http://www.washingtoninstitute.org/policy-analysis/view/contending-with-the-pkks-narco-terrorism
    http

  7. Last link
    http://pennyforyourthoughts2.blogspot.ca/2016/01/three-cheers-for-pkk.html

    Scott, this is also posted at my blog, where It will be ignored :))

    • Thanks for all that.

      Flores may also be some kind of crypto-rightist under neo-Marxist cover of some sort, it’s hard to tell, but he is usually very interesting at any rate. He was formerly a labor activist, but of course that could be anything from an anarchist to a Stalinist to a Trojan Horse.

      It is notable in the video I posted above that when bringing up the idea that Russia and Turkey colluded to shoot down the Russian plane, he lets slip that “I’m not allowed to go there”. I have no idea by whom he is not allowed, but it strongly suggests he is toeing someone’s line, maybe Russia’s?

Leave a Reply

