I’ll Be Watching the Redskins Later Today

by Scott Creighton

UPDATE: aaaaaand… they lost. 😦

Hi everybody.

I’ve been feeling a little better these last couple of days. Not completely well yet, but well enough to do some research and writing like I used to. Thanks to all who sent me well wishes over the past couple of weeks.

Today, the article I wrote earlier will be my only contribution to the website (aside from this?) because… as I am kind of ashamed to admit… I am a Redskins fan and will be watching the playoff game with the Packers.

I should probably explain.

I don’t like the NFL as a company nor do I endorse their broadcasts. But, as a remnant of my childhood, I’ve been a fan of the Washington Redskins since ’72… when I was 6 believe it or not. My dickhead doctor brother liked the team with the fish on their helmets and so I of course liked the other guys. That was a little thing called the Superbowl and as you may or may not know, I was about to learn disappointment at a tender age.

It kind of stuck with me ever since, growing up in VA and as a Redskins fan, I’ve become used to the sour taste of disappointment. Well, that and my professional career. And my college career. And my love life. And my personal life.. but I digress.

Anyway, as the fates would have it, the Skins sucked less this year than they usually do and Jason Garret kept playing Romo until his shoulder fell off…Eli turned out to be the Eli everyone expected and Phily turned into a train wreck… and thus “we” won the NFC Eastern division championship, securing our spot in the playoffs and the game today with Green Bay.

You like that? You like that!

So here I am, a Skins fan, doing what we do every 6 years or so… waiting for the other shoe to drop in the first round of the playoffs.

Gone are the days of the Smurfs, the Hogs, John Riggins and Doug Williams. Nothing is taken for granted except the absolute ability of the Redskins to snatch failure from the jaws of victory in order to punish us fans for being silly enough to be Redskins fans.

But today there is that old familiar taste in my mouth… hope. I know. I know. I didn’t fall for that shit when we were told “yes We Can!” in 2008, so why should I fall for it now?

That’s simple… I’m stupid.

Anyway… the game is later today and I will be nesting until then, making myself ready for an afternoon of elation or the more familiar despair.

Either way, they did better than any of the ESPN geniuses said they would and that gives me a little pride.

They’ve had a good year, won the division, settled their quarterback controversy and won a modicum of respect from the rest of the NFL prognosticators (Skins are actually picked to beat Green Bay today, believe it or not… that means we will definitely lose)

So I’ll be out for the remainder of the day. I wish you all well and will leave you with this little tidbit… go skins.

Leave a Reply

