A Little Perspective on YouTube Vs Blog Exposure (or… An Artist Rekindled)

by Scott Creighton

Hi everybody.

As some of you know, I made my article What’s the Story with Ahmed Mohamed and his Ridiculous Briefcase “Clock”? The Answer Lies with his Father  into my first real YouTube video on my American Everyman channel. It was kind of rough around the edges and I’ve been getting a lot of good constructive criticism on the effort so my next one will be better, I promise.

A lot of you have been telling me this move will garner a bit more exposure for the work that I do here and that’s a good reason to do it. But I wanted to share something with you guys that I don’t do very often but I think it will help you understand why I am doing this.

I’m very excited to tell you guys that the video has now been viewed over 650 times and received some comments and some “likes” and I’m very happy for all of that.

But let me show you something:

the views

What you are looking at is the analytics page for the parent article of that YouTube video. That article was posted about 4 hours prior to the video being made public.

At the time of posting this, my Onsite views stand at 9,589.

Now here is something I did not know until today: WordPress also tracks Syndicated views, views the article gets on websites that have taken my full article and posted it somewhere else. Those numbers currently stand at 9,447.

That makes for a grand total of 19,036 total views of the article that is a mere 4 hours older than the video.

I understand that my website is over 8 years old and my YouTube channel is still sloshing around in the afterbirth.

And I understand that the quality of my videos is quite a bit behind that of my writing.

But frankly, there aren’t many well established alternative media YouTube channels who have videos covering this psyop that have more views on their videos than I have currently on the article.

What I am trying to say is that I don’t expect the YouTube channel to extend the reach of the information that I try to communicate to people by that significant of a measure.

Though YouTube videos will reach a different audience and make some of the work that I do more readily accessible to them, I do not anticipate it overshadowing the work I do here. That would take years and a lot of “branding” and ‘cross marketing” efforts, that, quite frankly, I’m not interested in doing.

That’s simply not why I’m doing it.

Writing has always been an artistic endeavor for me.

This website, even though it’s a news site, is an expression of who I am. It’s an attempt to peel back the layers of the current human condition in order to make a statement about it and perhaps, in some small measure, effect a change. It’s also an effort for me to chronicle my own change.

For me, 20,000 people have just been sitting in a dark auditorium for however long it took them to read my recent article. And though they don’t see it this way, those 20,000 folks were really sitting there in that auditorium with each other being told a story, having it play out in front of them like a production in a theater.

However they took it, however they felt when it was done, for a brief time they sat and observed the show, and they thought about it and processed it along with 19,999 others in the quiet comfort of their own homes. Now they think about it, now they dissect it, now they understand the world they live in a little better… or they don’t.

As the course of my life unfolded, I never ended up becoming an actor, or a director or a playwright. The life in the theater that I once worked for, never was.

But I am still an artist.

The investigations that I do are real. The truth that I expose is real. The truth that I have learned through this process is real. The stories I tell are real. And the hope that I have for our collective future is also very real, though it runs a bit thin at times.

That is the work of an artist. And that is the work that I try to do.

In keeping with that, I have decided to explore a different medium though the use of videos.

I have no intention of continuing with the “sitting there ranting” format. My desire (and what I am currently working on) is to learn to use Lightworks to the point where I can produce reasonably effective and skillful looking documentaries on various subjects.

The format will allow me to include elements such as music, sound, imagery, tempo, lighting (eventually), movement and subtext in order to better convey the message to the audience.

I don’t know if I will ever get there and I don’t know if I will ever be good at it if I do. But I am going to try. Because artists evolve or they grow stale and wither.

Whatever comes of this effort, I want you readers to know, its not about broadening my reach. My reach is just fine. I helped a guy today at Walmart reach some water jugs way back on a shelf. True story.

If I never have more than the 34 subscribers I have right now, and no one ever views my videos other than the readers of this website, that’s just fine with me.

I just needed something positive and creative to sink my teeth into… even if I use it to expose something negative and destructive. Especially if I use it to expose something negative and destructive.

I kind of like the symmetry of that, don’t you?

Today I went through the rote mechanics of my day planning out in my little pointy head, my version of the definitive 9/11 Truth documentary and right now I know for a fact that I will make it (At least ‘definitive’ in my opinion) and that gives me hope.

Something to work for.

That’s what an artist needs.

What we all need I suppose.

That’s why I’m doing this.

Just thought you should know.

18 Responses

  1. I love the work you do, Scott. I only found your blog 2 months ago, so both your writing and your videos are a new experience to me.

    Best of luck on the video side of things, and keep up the good work.

  2. Absolutely Scott. I’ve followed your ups and downs and cheered you on each time you got up again. Your work comes across at a pretty high level and while I don’t always agree with each step along the way the disagreements are few and far between. Keep on being that artist with passion and integrity and don’t doubt for a moment that your work will catch on and some kind of reasonable remuneration will develop.

    • thanks. The video is doing well for a first attempt. Considering the audio is painful to listen to, I suppose that isn’t bad. I don’t know if I will ever monitize the channel though. It seems rather complicated and frankly, I don’t know if that would mean I would have to start pandering to various advertiser’s content rules or not. After eight years, I never monitized this site so I can’t say I anticipate doing that. Also, you know, I saw a guy on YouTube explain how he has something like 50,000 subscribers and only makes between 15 and 17 k a year. How long would it take to get to that point for that little of a payoff? I don’t know. Heck, the X22report has 73,000 subs and been around since 2013. I guess it’s possible for an alternative news channel to do well, but it certainly would take a lot of time.

  3. Your devotion is an inspiration to us all Scott. It puts me to shame…

  4. So glad to hear that you are an artist. What a nice statement. Here’s to you.

    You will do fine – videos are really easy once you get the buttons and basics of the editing program wired, and your first one was fine – you’re doing great.

    Once you figure out the basics – cutting, fades/dissolves, adding music and still photos, adjusting the audio levels, and adding text – you actually have enough tools to make simple feature films if you’re clever. If you ever need help feel free to send me an email. I know all about shooting/production, and Final Cut/iMovie editing on a Mac. I know how to get very good results for cheap.

    I was wondering whether you can monetize your YouTube views with ads so you make money if a lot of people view it. If anybody deserves revenue from ads it’s you.

    • thanks. I will probably take you up on that offer, but right now I’m just wading through all the how-to videos made by toddlers on YouTube. Lots of wisdom in those nappy wearing tikes, I’ll tell you that.

      • Here’s one thing to try for that audio distortion on your audio peaks that might fix it immediately: dial down your computer’s (sound card’s) “audio input” level control until recordings don’t distort anymore, and record your segments at that input level.

        I assume you’re recording yourself with your laptop or desktop computer, and not with a camcorder (but even if it’s a camcorder the same basic idea applies).

        If so, (and if the distortion is not being caused simply by a bad microphone):

        no matter what microphone you are using (if the mic is known to be good that is) that original audio signal goes in through your sound card and aside from the microphone that is probably where the distortion would come from.

        That may be because the “Input Level” control in your computer’s audio controls is set too high.
        If you find your computer’s system audio control page (on a Mac it’s in System Preferences) there should be a control for “Input Level” or something similar, to control the input level to your sound card from the microphone.
        Dial it down a bit and do a test to see if that gets rid of the distortion, and if there is still distortion, dial it down some more and test it again, and see if the distortion goes away at some level – there may be a lower audio “input level” where the distortion goes away because you’re no longer overloading the input amplifier.

        If a lower input level on the audio input fixes the distortion and gives you nice clean audio, then before recording your segment just try to establish the highest input level setting that doesn’t distort, and then set it a little bit below there so it’s as loud as it can be yet never distorts.
        This might fix your distortion problem.

        If it fixes it, and then the audio you record is too quiet, that’s okay, you go ahead and record your segments at that quieter safe level (the non-distorting input level), then dial the loudness/volume back up afterward in your editing program, because then you have a clean un-distorted audio track to amplify, and that works great.

        Whereas if the original recording is distorted there is no real good way to ever get rid of the distortion. Making a slightly quiet but un-distorted track louder afterward in editing is easy.

  5. While I hope the videos help to expand your audience, I hope it’s not at the expense of the written blog. I rarely watch videos and much prefer reading for a variety of reasons. I often read your blog using my iPad while sitting on the couch with my wife while she watches tv. I’m actually doing that right now. If you switch to video, I’m not going to be watching it. I realize there are good reasons to present these videos, including (especially) the personal satisfaction you get from them – I’m just hoping it doesn’t end up replacing the written word.

    • that’s not an issue. the only way I stop writing is if some neoliberal shill company offers me a buy-out. 😉

      I’m not going anywhere and as you can see from my work since the video, writing is still my main focus. Though I still don’t know the difference between “to” and “too” (I’m pretty solid on the “two” and “tu” things though, so for me, that’s 50% … and 50% ain’t bad!) I love writing and will keep at it.

  6. Thanks you Scott for all you do ! I have followed your blog for 3 years and I can tell you r the best in what you doing , none of the news sites alternative or otherwise can do that depth analysis as you do and what even more pleasant your irony on the story’s you cover
    Thanks again!!!

    • thank you. It’s been my pleasure to do it and honestly, it’s the only thing aside from work (when I could) that I have ever done for this long a period. I guess, in a way, it found me and I can’t imagine not doing it anymore.

  7. Well…synchronicity🙂 I had just read this post, then wandered to a couple other sites, and came across this quote in the comments :

    ” What do you think an artist is? An imbecile who only has eyes, if he is a painter, or ears if he is a musician, or a lyre in every chamber of his heart if he is a poet, or even, if he is a boxer, just his muscles? Far from it: at the same time he is also a political being, constantly aware of the heartbreaking, passionate, or delightful things that happen in the world, shaping himself completely in their image. How could it be possible to feel no interest in other people, and with a cool indifference to detach yourself from the very life which they bring to you so abundantly? No, painting is not done to decorate apartments. It is an instrument of war.”

    Picasso

  8. Sorry but I have to ask, What were you doing in a Walmart?

    • lol… kinda sad isn’t it? Uh… I was shopping for food. I’m disabled and very poor and that’s basically the only place I can afford to buy my crappy food.

Leave a Reply

