Chris Hedges: “We Live in a Time of Radical Evil!”

I must confess that I am deeply disappointed with the white moderate. I have almost reached the regrettable conclusion that the negroes great stumbling block in his strive toward freedom is not the white citizens council or the Ku Klux Klanner, but the white moderate who is more devoted to order than he is to justice; who prefers a negative peace which is the absence of tension to a positive peace which is the presence of justice; who constantly says “I agree with you and the goal you seek but I cannot agree with your methods of direct action”; who paternalistically believes he can set the time-table for another man’s freedom; shallow understanding from people of good will is more frustrating than absolute misunderstanding from people of ill will.  Luke warm acceptance, this failure to act, is the worst form of moral cowardice.  It cripples and destroys.” Letters from a Birmingham Jail, Dr. M. L. King