Racist Uses His Free Speech Right; Let’s Use Ours

Mike Norman of Marietta, Georgia owns a bar called Mulligan’s. He and his clientele have been selling shirts that portray the vilest and most despicable kind of racist rhetoric that I have seen in my life.

But, of course, he has the right to do so in America. But then again, so do we.

For those of you that are interested:

Mulligans

698 Roswell St Se
Marietta, GA 30060 Map

(770) 499-1137

***update*** LOOK WHAT SIMON FOUND Mulligans YELP listing! Thanks Simon.

  http://www.yelp.com/biz/mulligans-marietta 

This is Mike Norman, the life-time conservative owner of the bar and designer of the shirts, who stands by his shirts saying:

 “It’s not racist. It just looks like him.”

That’s your free speech right buddy. Now it’s our turn.

See the CNN video here.

On several sites, there seems to be a question as to what kind of sheltered life I have led if this is the most offensive act of racism I have seen.

let’s put this into perspective, shall we?

We live in a country that exploited slaves for centuries.

We just recently passed a civil rights act to protect the freedoms of black people and minorities.

Now, young people, of all races, and older people who lived through the riots and the segregation of the ’50’s and ’60’s, all share a moment in history: the nomination of a African American to be the Democratic Candidate for the office of President of the United States of America. The highest office in the land.

And this man, for whatever reason, takes the time to design, contract, ship, open, and displays shirts that reflect the absolute worst possible racist slander he could imagine, toward that very same history making candidate.

It is his fear of a black president that created this shirt. His kind of racist bigotry should never be ignored. We must expose it where we find it and call it out for what it is. Lest we forget the lesson of Harold Ford and that now famous tv ad his rivals ran.

(alright, I took “white trash” out of the title. I am related to one of the commenters who didn’t like it.)

97 Responses

  1. I am sending this to everyone I know in GA. I guarantee no one I know will ever set foot in his bar. And, yes it is his right, but it is also my right to ask every one I know to never EVER purchase a budweiser from him

  2. As an Obama voter, I’m definitely sympathetic to your view, but calling someone “white trash” at the same time you call him a racist doesn’t really help your case.

  3. I am a world traveller and will never put foot in this place. I will tell all I know about this racist, and hope that he has no descendants to pass this racist attitude upon. May God forgive you…….you will need it.

  4. Raymond;

    I know… I was angry… and I am white trash. So it’s kinda like black people using the “n” word: I know it when I see it.

    But you are right.

  5. I was looking for a phone number. Thanks for posting the phone number. I am out of state, but will call an order a couple of shirts. If I am ever in the area, I will have dinner and a few drinks! :)

  6. Where did this peckerwood get the money together to buy a bar? Generations of welfare, no doubt.

  7. I know I’m taking a trip to the ATL just to drink beers at this bar. Its A OK to sale “Kill Bush” tshirts however this is offensive? LIGHTING UP!!! Damm you Obama “Children of the Corn” is super soft.

  8. “kill Bush” is about the actions of the INDIVIDUAL…

    this shirt is about the entire RACE….

    I wouldn’t expect everyone to understand the difference.

  9. Would somebody please explain to me why this poor excuse for a human being is labeled a “conservative”? What’s conservative about race-baiting? Where I come from we have other words for people who do evil, and when thy get caught pretend it was all in good fun!

  10. Jape;
    I know not all conservatives are like this. The CNN story introduces him as a life-long conservative. Maybe they asked him, I don’t know. But that’s what the video claims.

  11. Nope, you are wrong, this is about a person. The End.

  12. I live in Atlanta. It is my understanding that the owner is known for doing this kind of thing. The people who go to his bar go there for things like this and his business will grow, not decline, because of this. He is known for controversial comments. Anyone who would be offended by this would probably already avoid the bar.

    But I can guarantee you that he is not poor or white trash. He is probably doing fairly well financially. He is just racist and stupid.

  13. His business is on yelp, you know what to do.

    http://www.yelp.com/biz/mulligans-marietta

  14. Skeener;
    It’s interesting how many people have commented on my use of the term “white trash”, while this guy is holding up a characature of a monkey next to Obama’s name.

    Slurs have tendency to hurt, don’t they.

    But I see your point about him doing it for attention.

    My point is that if you would even consider this kind of stunt for ANY reason… you are… rich or poor… white trash.

  15. Simon;
    Thanks! I will put that in the body of the text!

  16. So I grew up in Marietta, and I’m embarrassed by this t-shirt. I am not surprised at all about it though. About 15 minutes north is “Wildman” Dent’s which is a racist museum basically (I’m not kidding). In defense of Marietta, not everyone is like this, but there are a handful or very outspoken people who make up for it. The rest of the people just keep their mouth shut and don’t say anything.

  17. The correct response? Pray: “God forgive him for he knows not what he’s doing”. This is how you love your enemies; you pray for them.

    I have been teaching (on and off) at colleges and universities across America for over 40 years. I’ve had opportunities to relate my experiences during the 40’s, 50’s, and 60’s (with regard to racism) to my students.

    Recently, while teaching a course (Success Strategies) in a college class, students asked me if I thought things had changed since the days of my youth. They asked the question in a way that suggested that they thought that things had changed (for the better). My immediate answer: No! They then wanted to know the basis for my answer. Before I gave my response, I asked the class if anyone could tell me what they thought the word “change” means? All of their responses could be summed up into one phrase: Change means that which one can see – outwardly – where one lives, cars driven, careers attained, how much money being earned, technological advances, et cetera, et cetera. Then, I gave my answer as to why “things” had not changed by offering an illustration: Consider a man who has been traveling through a desert place for some amount of time (without water to wash); his body is stinking and his clothes are rank. When he reaches civilization, he changes his clothes but he does not bathe his body. Outwardly, he looks like he has changed because he has put on a new set of clothing; but underneath the new (changed) clothes, his body is permeated with the same, rank smell as when he was in the desert. Translation: Change takes place in a man’s heart (inwardly) regardless of what the outside looks like. And then, I went on farther to say: If “things” have really changed, then there would be no reason for our insisting on relating to one another via what we call “political correctness”; we would say what we mean, and mean what we say. Mr. Norman is merely expressing that which is in his heart, albeit it racist.

    With regard to race in this Country, WE have never dealt with cleaning up/washing that which is underneath that which we see outwardly. Coming out of slavery, all WE have done is merely put on a new set of clothes as an indication of change. WE have not washed away the filth underneath (in our hearts). All WE have done is accepted the words African American (new set of clothes) in exchange for the words: boy, aunt Jamima, colored, nigger, economically deprived, socially deprived, economically and socially disadvantaged, etc. (the old, desert set of clothes). WE (all Americans)have attempted to change the image (our outer clothing) of ourselves without understanding, perhaps, that it is OUR hearts towards one another that need changing.

    If we could, somehow, effectively stop Mr. Norman’s efforts (outwardly), he would still be the same man (inwardly); and the next generation of US ALL will not be the better for it. Personally, as an African American, I would like to meet Mr. Norman, and sit and talk with him – one on one. Why? It is far easier to deal with a snake (metaphorically speaking) if you know that it’s a snake. The most dangerous ones in our Nation are those snakes whom we belive are not snakes because we let them hide behind/continue to cloke themselves in “political correctness”. Consider this: Can you imagine how many youngsters in this Country have been laboring under the deceitful notion that things have changed? Can you imagine how many of our youth are being adversely impacted by what they’re witnessing from us “adults” right now. All it takes to prove it is some sensational event involving an African American, especially an African American man –(“sensational” as in reported with varacity in the media).

  18. I don’t like the words ‘white trash’ either; it really confuses me. I do put my trash out in white plastic bags so maybe I have white trash but when you look inside there are all the colors combined stamped on various packages and used up boxes. Eliminate the words ‘white trash; it is insulting.
    That man is ignorant and dangerous. anyone who would insult Obama with ‘that’ particular symbol is living in a weird tiny world of his own that has smothered his small brain.

  19. Jan;
    You don’t like the term “white trash” because it is a racist slur. I chose it for a reason. It’s called empathy. I wanted people offended. They should be offended. Just as much by one slur as they are another; regardless of race.

  20. White trash?

    Pot meet kettle.

  21. What a fucking crybaby you are. Bush is compared to a monkey all the time, but oooOoooh just because Obama is black, this guy’s a racist. What an utterly pathetic individual you must be.

  22. The irony is that Obama is trying to help small business owners like this guy. He’s just too blinded by hatred, prejudice and fear to see it. He does, however, have a bright future. He’s probably being courted as a spokesman for the hard working, blue collar, white voters that Hillary is proud to have. Or even a cabinet spot. It’s rumored that she’ll create a new cabinet department: the Department of Division and Destruction. This guy’s a shoe-in for the top spot.

  23. Look people, if you really want to put a stop to this, contact the copyright holder of the Curious George image. It’s pretty obvious that this guy isn’t authorized to use the image and can get socked with a huge judgement if he keeps using the image without permission.

  24. Myers, you’re exactly right. With liberals and minorities in general, there’s a double standard.

    If you ask me, “White Trash” is a racist statement so who’s the bigot here? I think I’ll head down there for lunch this weekend just to show him some moral support.

  25. Shouldn’t whoever publishes Curious George be notified of copyright infringement?

  26. >> “Let’s put this into perspective, shall we?”

    Yes, lets.

    >> “Now, young people, of all races, and older people who lived through the riots and the segregation of the ’50’s and ’60’s, all share a moment in history: the nomination of a African American to be the Democratic Candidate for the office of President of the United States of America. The highest office in the land.”
    Couldn’t agree more.

    >> “And this man, for whatever reason, takes the time to design, contract, ship, open, and displays shirts that reflect the absolute worst possible racist slander he could imagine, toward that very same history making candidate.”
    First off, how long could it take to design that? 12 seconds? Further – that’s the “worst possible racist slander he could imagine”? Really? Curious George is the WORST he could do?

    >> “It is his fear of a black president that created this shirt. His kind of racist bigotry should never be ignored. We must expose it where we find it and call it out for what it is. Lest we forget the lesson of Harold Ford and that now famous tv ad his rivals ran.”
    I’m not sure this is true. I would guess that if you stepped back for a second you’d likely agree that this guy was trying to make a joke, albeit one with clearly racist overtones and in magnificently bad taste. I’m not condoning what he’s doing, I’m just saying that for people to retain their justified outrage at racism, it needs to be focused on appropriate targets.

    There’s no question that this is in bad taste and does smack of racism, and I certainly woudln’t support the guy, but at the same time a little perspective would be helpful in the discussion.

  27. White Trash = Racist Red Neck

    If you don’t want to be white trash, don’t be a racist red neck. If you don’t want to be a racist red neck, then don’t be white trash. It is fairly simple.

  28. Oh and for those keeping track:

    Curious George publisher may sue over T-shirt

    http://www.ajc.com/wireless/content/metro/cobb/stories/2008/05/13/mulligans_0514.html

    Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

  29. Come on! It’s Georgia! I’m just surprised he spelled ‘Obama’ correctly with the low-educated yahoos who live there. You’re all WHITE TRASH HILLBILLIES and that won’t change until you guys change yourselves. This is funny and sad at the same time that there are white people so pissed off at a half-black president. Stay classy and poor Georgia!

  30. You know the difference between a divorce and a tornado in Georgia?

    Somebody’s losing a trailer either way.

  31. Dave, you sound as ignorant as the t-shirt guy is.

  32. Oh yes, I read about this over at Byron Crawford’s blog.

  33. I can’t help but feel that the guy is looking for the extra publicity that this controversy will give him. Most people who object will not go to the sort of lengths to cause him any real trouble neither would they be the sort of people likely to feel welcome in his bar however in the eyes of the more bigoted this will be a rallying cry. To those of us in Europe such people will be seen as the embodiment of the Southern lunatics but it’s not as if we don’t have a bit of a tradition for fascism ourselves.

    Those who carry this sort of view are better off out in the open because this allows the use of rational argument to counteract their point of view and their abject idiocy, not that it will have any effect on them, but perhaps on those who might otherwise be swayed out of ignorance. The driving underground can be more of a problem. “Historian” David Irving has acquired cult status in the right-wing community as a result of him being branded a racist and imprisoned when actually a rebuttal of his tenuous facts might prove more effective in removing his status as an academic.

    Language is also very much to play for here, you can use words like ‘white trash’ and ‘nigger’ if it is in explained reasoned debate rather than as an insult, to use a politically correct term like “the n word” lends it a weight that it is not due, it is a word that has already been repatriated by the young black community and as such has been denied much of the offensive context the word itself might possess, however the inference is offensive when used by someone who wishes to cause pain but that would be the case whatever word might be used.

    What I find ironic is that Barack Obama whilst in socio-political terms the least establishment of the potential candidates still represents the political establishment and not much of a chance from the corporate American hegemony, just as Hilary Clinton would be about as defining for women’s rights as Thatcher was in the UK.

    Just my two pence.

  34. A) thanx for helping to popularize something that doesn’t deserve the attention in the first place. I’m going to buy one because they’re probably collectors items by now.

    B) you removed ‘white trash’ because you were related to someone who complained…. and not because you sincerely see the issue with using it in the first place?

    C) You’re part of the problem.

  35. “A”;
    A. You’re going to buy a racist shirt because it may become a “collector’s item”? That’s a good reason to support this prick…

    B. He has probably had to change his phone number (seems to be disconnected) because people keep calling (from the CNN story that got a million hits, not my little site) and people wanted to express their freedom of expression. maybe next time he’ll think about trying to generate some free business with a racist prank about the democratic nominee…

    C. I used “white trash” to generate feelings about using racial slurs, and apparently it worked. It seems, If you want to buy one of the shirts, that depicting a black man as a monkey doesn’t bother you, while the term ‘white trash” does… now who is “the problem”?

    So I guess that is exactly my point.

    You don’t fix anything by ignoring it.

  36. People on here might call me a racist if I say I’m not voting for Obama. They might call me sexist for not voting for Hillary, either. Then they’ll say “Oh you’re some redneck voting for McCain.” Wrong. I’m not voting for him either, for his support of global warming, destroying the First Amendment to the Constitution with McCain-Feingold “Campaign Finance Reform,” and his support for some gun control measures. As for Obama, do any of you here know what his “Hope” and “Change” for this country would be?

  37. Anthony;
    Just look back over some of my earlier posts; I’m not a big Obama fan either. In fact, I think the election is going to be rigged like the last 4… so it really doesn’t matter who you vote for these days. I vote for impeachment. That’s my vote. Yeah, Obama is big business friendly, just like the rest of the bunch still clinging to the vine; and that’s not an accident.
    But no-one should be insulted like this. ok… maybe Dick Cheney… and Bush… and Rumsfeld… and Libby… and Feith… but that’s it. No one else. Ok… Wolfowitz.. and he’s the last… I mean it.

  38. … and Bill O’Reily… but that is definately it!

  39. “shirts that portray the vilest and most despicable kind of racist rhetoric that I have seen in my life”

    If a stupid monkey with a banana really makes it to that definition for you then I’d say we’re doing a good job getting rid of racism.

  40. Good post, Willy. People who dismiss this t-shirt as not being racist, or say that you’re sensitive are full of shit.

    Keep doing what you’re doing. :)

    Posting from the road — Billings, Montana today, and the Badlands of South Dakota tomorrow!

  41. That is way to funny…here is a guy who is a possible…racist and he gets public acclaim…I say back off and don’t give him any attention.

    Perhaps he is just a revolutionist…

    After all…we all came from the same two people…if you call them Adam or Eve or Harold and Maude.

    See ya in the Funny Papers…
    Sharon
    ~The Baby Boomer Queen~

    BabyBoomerAdvisorClub.com

  42. Hi ZZ. Thanks. Drive carefully.

  43. I do not condone racism of any sort.

    That said, where’s the outcry of equating Bush to a chimp for 8 years? What, no complaints just because he doesn’t have as many grievance mongers?

    Not just putting the words BUSH ’08 next to a cartoon monkey, but seamlessly grafting his face onto a monkey body.

    And why no protests when Condi Rice is called a ‘house n*gga’ in national publications?

    Racism is as racism does. I’m continually dumbfounded that Blacks who strongly decry racism could join the Democrat Party, the sames ones who have 220 years of racist policies, quotes and slavery.

    PS. I’m not Caucasian myself.

  44. Scott;

    I have heard this comparison allot today, and i am glad you bring it up here.

    The “Chimpy McCodpiece” characature of Bush didn’t start because he looked like a monkey.

    The first I saw of it, years ago, put “Chimpy” on the end of a tether and had Cheney dressed like an organ grinder while Chimpy danced.

    The idea was that Bush was simply Cheney’s “dancing monkey”.

    Now that said, we all know the racist implications of equating any race with monkeys. What did Howard Cosell get fired for? It’s something that is offensive and is just not done for that reason.

    Everyone knows that. This guy knew that.

    Hell, I’m white trash, and I know that.

    I’ve never heard Condi called that. If you have a link, I would be glad to post that and decry it just the same.

    Condi is a war-criminal and corrupt as hell, but I would draw the line at calling her that. You see, one thing is the honest truth, the other is just bigoted ignorance. if you want to insult her, get with times and use “the Google”.

  45. its clearly racism. my god. duh. black people have historically been called monkeys for a long time, it is a well established racial slur. anyone who says its “just a cartoon monkey” needs to tell me then what the point of the shirt was, if not a racist term referring him to a monkey, as has been done since slave days? what is the connection otherwise? is his name george? no. is he known for eating bananas on the campaign trail? no. is his campaign manager a man in a giant yellow suit and hat? well, no. so where is the curious george connection people?

  46. If Obama behaves like Bush when he becomes the President, this Bar and its owner may be history.

  47. Is this guy an ass? Yes, absolutely. But if comparing Obama with Curious George is the worst that either you, or he, could come up with, then neither of you has a sense of history. Lynching alone is worse by a country mile than a cartoon monkey, and that’s hardly the only example. As Brian mentions above, a little perspective goes a long way.

    Columbus Banks makes a good point as well: Better the devil you know. This isn’t (just) about one person’s racist thoughts and actions. The problem with political correctness is that it takes speech that’s out in the open and merely drives it underground. Someone may watch what they say in public, but–same as with politicians–it’s not the public utterances but what they say behind closed doors to friends and family that makes the difference. You’ve merely papered over the racism, not changed the thoughts that gave rise to it. You cannot legislate thought, nor should you try.

    Finally, regarding publicizing this shithead in the first place: the last thing you do if you want someone to shut up is give them a public soapbox. Now he gets to be a martyr to his supporters, and–hey presto–gets a bunch more supporters he would not have had before. Hardly what I’d call progress.

  48. Comparing Bush to a chimpanzee is an insult to the chimpanzee.

    At least chimps have been known to display intelligence.

  49. outstanding americas black population can say and do anything they would like ( Al Sharpton-Tawana Brawley) and when critized relive the the days of slavery on every damn media outlet in the world. How about using some of your energy to prosecute some of this black on black crime that happens all across our great country. Oh I forgot lets blame it on the government. So a knucklehead in Georgia prints a shirt you don’t like,next time i’m in a mall and blackman walks by me with a kill white people or has a target drawn on the forehead of a sitting president, I”ll do what i always do, FREE COUNTRY you don’t like it leave, it is there right to wear what they want, quit giving this guys his 15seconds,and worry about more important things in this country.

  50. I wrote about Norman here:

    http://stuffwhitedbagslike.wordpress.com

    A passive response to guys like him is why civil society has become uncivil. The only appropriate response to this is vigorous ridicule.

  51. Hey Paul Bogan, Are you saying that since the offensive t-shirt is not the “worse” thing to do, then the monkey with a banana is OK? What? Are you insulted because he didn’t consult you first because YOU have a better idea for an offensive Obama t-shirt? Hanging? What cave do you live in?
    Don’t think any ‘law’ has been made here about ‘thoughts’ but during my lifetime I have noticed that most people say what they mean: except for you. You must have a lot of simmering dirty little secret thoughts. Political correctness simple means for those of YOU that cannot have respect for your neighbors inside your own home or MIND, YOU will show respect for your neighbors in public: and it does change thinking. If someone uses rude words because they have heard those words all their life, and suddenly there is an outcry about those particular words, then that person will think about ‘why is the word offensive’. Most of the time, that person will be embarrassed about having ever used those words.
    He published his offensive racial slur thoughts on a t-shirt about a man who is running for the highest position in America and silence is the reponse… then that says America doesn’t give a damm. It quietly says America allows and maybe agrees with the grossness of the t-shirt. We don’t. If the t-shirt had your name on it, wouldn’t you be angry? (doesn’t matter if you are white). And then to place Obama’s name on it? If he is your ‘buddy’, Paul, then you need to examine your thoughts and maybe pick some new friends or stay in your dark cave with your floor piled with banana skin peelings, the left overs of your meals.

  52. Who cares, the shirts funny. Your not making a statement either.

    http://claysol13.wordpress.com

    http://clayton-nichols.com

  53. While I’m against racism, I’m not sure that guy is being racist.

    For instance, George Bush has his own monkey T-Shirt: http://www.cafepress.com/buy/bush+monkey+t-shirt/-/pv_design_prod/p_storeid.73221791/pNo_73221791/id_14341190/opt_/pg_/c_/fpt_

    And editorial staffs all over use a monkey face for him.

    I think if you run for president, people get to start doing things that “may” be racist, but you can’t be sure of. It is more important to critique those in power (or aspiring to it) than to be so sensitive about race.

  54. [...] pm (Obama) Tags: free speech, presidential campaign, race, racism, racist I am appalled at the racism that we want to sweep under the rug and act as if it does NOT [...]

  55. Jan, you’ve completely missed the point.

    >>Hey Paul Bogan, Are you saying that since the offensive t-shirt is not the “worse” thing to do, then the monkey with a banana is OK? What? Are you insulted because he didn’t consult you first because YOU have a better idea for an offensive Obama t-shirt? Hanging? What cave do you live in?

    The monkey with the banana is not “ok.” What I was saying, and what you appear to have missed, is that while the monkey is clearly offensive, it’s not the worst that the guy could have done. There are symbols that have a far more loaded history (look at the Jena controversy and all that led up to it). What I’m saying is that the reaction to this is somewhat out of proportion to what was said/done in the first place.

    >>Don’t think any ‘law’ has been made here about ‘thoughts’ but during my lifetime I have noticed that most people say what they mean: except for you. You must have a lot of simmering dirty little secret thoughts. Political correctness simple means for those of YOU that cannot have respect for your neighbors inside your own home or MIND, YOU will show respect for your neighbors in public: and it does change thinking. If someone uses rude words because they have heard those words all their life, and suddenly there is an outcry about those particular words, then that person will think about ‘why is the word offensive’. Most of the time, that person will be embarrassed about having ever used those words.

    First off, do not presume to know my thoughts; you don’t know me well enough to even be in the ballpark. What I was getting at here was that if someone uses the correct terms in public because the law or custom says they must, but still thinks the same way, the law hasn’t changed anything. This starts with upbringing, not with laws; it starts with teaching common respect for one another, and realizing/respecting what makes each of us unique.

    >>He published his offensive racial slur thoughts on a t-shirt about a man who is running for the highest position in America and silence is the reponse… then that says America doesn’t give a damm. It quietly says America allows and maybe agrees with the grossness of the t-shirt. We don’t. If the t-shirt had your name on it, wouldn’t you be angry? (doesn’t matter if you are white).

    It’s one thing to call attention to someone’s actions; quite another to give them free publicity and bring more people around to their point of view. While he may have the right to print the t-shirts, I’d take issue with giving him free publicity, which is essentially what’s happening here.

    >>And then to place Obama’s name on it? If he is your ‘buddy’, Paul, then you need to examine your thoughts and maybe pick some new friends or stay in your dark cave with your floor piled with banana skin peelings, the left overs of your meals.

    For someone to take such issue with the t-shirt and then to defame someone for not agreeing with them, as you’ve done to me, isn’t just bordering on hypocrisy, it’s wallowing in it. Next time, please read and understand what you’re commenting on before commenting upon it. I’m giving you the benefit of the doubt and saying that you’ve failed to understand what I was saying; the alternative is that you’ve understood and are deliberately misrepresenting not only what I’ve said but also my motives. If that’s the case, it’s your own thoughts with which you should be concerned and not mine.

  56. I believe one of the reasons why hate like this flourishes is because a genuine lack of compassion. Violence begets violence and hate breeds hate. If you ridicule, scorn and treat people with his kind of racist perceptions with derision it is only going to make it worse and continue the cycle. He’s simply going to transfer and project even more hate that is normally simply a projection of self-hatred onto the subjects of that warped perception. If it doesn’t work try something else – CHANGE.

  57. This “free publicity” Paul, (fisrt of all CNN has probably had more than 2 million hits on this. My little site is nothing compared to that) has tied up his phone line to the point of having to change the number; he’s probably getting tons of mail; and people will be protesting outside his establishment; his children will be hassled (hopefully not physically); and other family members and friends will be embassased by him, and they will let him know.

    But aside from all of that “free publicity” you speak of, the point is simple, and Jan is absolutely correct, when we as a people allow this kind of thing to go unchecked, it reflects on us all. It reflects in the young childrens eyes when they look to see what is acceptable and what is not.

    Silence is complicity, Paul. And I am far from “politically correct”. Just read my site.

    This kind of act is deeply offensive to me, and if it is not to you, then so be it.

  58. As always, the fear of the black person doing a better job than the white person. This will never change. White people better get used to intelligent blacks. We will change the world. Change is needed.
    I am not a racist, but have been fired from jobs because I am a black that is smarter than white coworkers. I am considered beautiful on the inside out. Just my existence is a threat.
    Yes I am bitter and tired of it.

  59. Wow, Willyloman, if that is the most racially vile thing you have ever seen, you should open a history book or two. Might I suggest “Bullwhip Days” an oral history of black slaves? Or any number of historical and contemporary treatments of this disgusting, but all too human, characteristic shared by EVERYONE on this planet – prejudice.

  60. Paul, I did understand your words; maybe not ‘you’ but all I had to go on was what you wrote.
    1. You were comparing an intentionally racial slur t-shirt to an act of committing murder. (hanging)
    2. You referred to the correctness of ‘speech'; the offensive t-shirt is an action which is a step beyond speech.
    3. Progress? He already had a soapbox and supporters; now he has strong opponents against his t-shirt; yes, that is progress.

  61. I have a black friend who’s nick name is Gorilla. I can’t stand people who think everything is offensive. Pretty sonn these same people will take all our rights away for anything they deem as offensive. It’s a freaking JOKE – get over it all you losers!

  62. My friends and I tried to go yesterday and it was so packed we decided to wait. We’re going to try to get in early Friday, I’m keeping my fingers crossed!

    I get a laugh out of the T-shirt, which is what it’s purpose was. In all honesty, Curious George does share some of the same qualities with Obama. THIS IS NOT A RACIST STATEMENT. For god sakes his grandchildren were the ones that made the connection between George/Obama’s hairline and ears.

    The T-shirt, while well intended, has caused quite a stir. However it’s great that it gives most of you hypochondriacs something to talk about.

    I’ll be there Friday!

  63. Ohhh, I get it now. The “Curious George as Obama” t-shirt was all for laughs!

    I’m gonna put on some blackface makeup and an Aunt Jemima headscarf, and order up fried chicken and watermelon for all my black friends and their tar baby chillens.

    Maybe later all my white friends can come over, and we’ll have a lynching! Fun!

    They’re gonna love it!! It’s funny!!

  64. James says “The T-shirt, while well intended, has caused quite a stir”

    “…while WELL INTENDED…”

    Depicting ANY person of African heritage as a monkey, is racist.

    To depict the first African-American to win his party’s nomination is an attempt to usher the vile stench a racism into to campaign.

    And if you think that this act was in any way “well intended” then you are a racist.

  65. I just read on a news item on the internet that t-shirts with the words ‘Bros not Hos’ has been sold and circulated. How can such a discriminating shirt be sold without any complaints? It must be supported by suporters of Obama. I change my opinion of the monkey -shirt. It means nothing to me. I do resent men of all races that support the idea that women represent ‘hos’. I’m going to vote for HIllary; to hell with all you ‘Bros’. You can go ‘pimp’ for your mothers and daughters. You do realize they are women also? That shirt insults them too.

  66. Well Jen, that’s an excellent reason to vote for Hillary. :roll:

  67. Well, Zeeoy, if all the current canidates are very similiar; except Hillary, according to a survey taken by on-line internet users, has more positive answers than Obama who was waaayyy down on the survey list, then Hillary is a finer choice than not voting at all. Kucinich was at the top of the list, then Edwards then Hillary……. about three more spaces down (after Paul and etc.) was Obama. The t-shirt slur toward women is an excellent reason to decide to cast my vote instead of giving up. I will vote for Hillary. Guess that will null your vote. That is if voting matters at all.

  68. M’kay…

  69. you tell her, Zooey…

  70. Oh… sorry Gooey, I didn’t mean to imply that you would vote. Guess that is up to you taking time from your 3rd grade math tests.

  71. Nice kook, Willy. It’s almost clever. ;)

  72. Hey Booey, bet you do a lot of name calling; some people have to. They don’t have a strong word-sense background.

  73. Maybe I should introduce the two of you…

    Jan, meet Zooey, a good online friend of mine, who sometimes sees things alittle different than I do, but that’s ok.

    Zooey, meet Jan, my mother, who is kind of kooky sometimes, but what else would you expect from someone who has to listen to me?

    Zooey…Jan

    Jan…Zooey

  74. In some ways, the monkey is more insidious than the “more vile” things that some of you have been suggesting because it’s a shirt that people will actually wear. It’s exactly this kind of somewhat subtle racism that people can still insist is “all in good fun” that is most corrosive to society. If his shirt was lynching themed, he would not have so many defenders.

  75. Oh dear……. if Zooey is a good friend, I’ll offer a palm branch for good will and peace.

  76. Oh Jeebus, my apologies Willy. :oops:

    Mea culpa, Jan.

  77. Oh, no apologies needed, ZZ. She’s been having a ball with this. You should hear her laughing about it.

  78. Zoe;
    That’s is absolutely right. This kind of racist undercurrent is very corrosive. That’s a very good point.

  79. Thanks, Willy.

    You know I like to laugh, so I’ll join Jan in laughing at me. :lol:

  80. Well, Zooey, I have always heard ‘It takes two to tango.’ I am certainly old enough to be responsible for part. Thanks.
    Yeah…. laughing is good for the soul.

  81. oh God…

    I liked it better when you were insulting each other.

  82. Sorry Willy, if I ever get out of Illinois, Jan and I are going out for drinks, and she’s going to show me your naked baby pictures and old report cards. ;)

  83. what have I done….

  84. Oh…., you two are sooooo funny. I was getting ready for bed and thought I would peek in one more time. good thing I did!
    Zooey, I don’t have any naked pics of him but…. I have some almost naked. Will they do? He was so cute. Blond fuzz, big blue eyes and smiles. He’s still smiles and loves to laugh; cuteness turned into handsome. Has a great sounding deep laugh. I could brag about him all night but then he would be embarrassed.
    Yeah, willyloman…. what have you done…. you did a good thing.

  85. Cheers Jan, I’m buying. ;)

  86. Does anyone believe in ghosts? After reading all these comments, it seems like ghosts from the mid-1770’s are attacking.
    gotta get my piece of silver out or is that for vampires?

  87. You cry babies. The shirt is probably racist (the owner claims the shirts have nothing to do with race but rather resemblence of the cartoon character to Barack Hussein Obama), but funny. It’s not as racist as associating whites in America with the Romans who persecuted Jesus like Hussein’s religious leader Jeremiah Wright.

  88. Indeed, it’s time we exercise our freedom of speech and let Mr. Norman know that he is no longer welcome in Marietta. I’ve started an online petition to oppose Mulligan’s and the owner’s hateful views. Please sign the petition, share it with friends, and let’s get this dump closed down:

    http://www.petitionspot.com/petitions/shutdownmulligans/

  89. I can’t wait to eat at this restraunt!!

  90. Wonder if they have any shirts left?

  91. well, at least you spelled “shirts” right…

  92. I am a new resident of Marietta, and Mulligan’s owner continues to embrace racist slurs and an “awe shucks” attitude toward his bigotry. Thank you for this post.

  93. I love it! As a Rebulican, I appreciate the rights we have cause you liberals are slowly trying to take those rights away day by day. Good job Norman, I would be honored to have a beer at Mulligans.

  94. The worst of America can be found in this article. It is far worse to try and restrict someone from having racist views than for them to have them to begin with.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 860 other followers

